Regional FATF-Style Bodies and FATF Associate Members

There are eight regional FATF-style bodies and FATF Associate Members that have similar form and functions to those of FATF. Many FATF member countries are also members of these bodies.

Asia/Pacific Group on Money Laundering (APG)

  • A Financial Action Task Force (FATF)-style autonomous voluntary and cooperative regional body, not derived from an international treaty, and not part of an international organization. Established in 1997 consisting of jurisdictions in the Asia/Pacific Region. See

Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF)

  • A FATF-style regional body comprising Caribbean states, including Aruba, the Bahamas, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands and Jamaica. Established as the result of meetings in 1990 and 1992. Cooperating nations include Canada, France, Mexico, the Netherlands, Spain, UK, US. 19 recommendations, revised in 1999 which compliment the FATF 40. See

Council of Europe Select Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures (MONEYVAL) (formerly PC-R-EV)

  • Council of Europe Select Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures. Formerly PC-R-EV, the committee was established in 1997 by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe to conduct self and mutual assessments of anti-money laundering measures in place in Council of Europe countries that are not FATF members. MONEYVAL is a sub-committee of the European Committee on Crime Problems of the Council of Europe (CDPC).

Eastern and Southern Africa Anti-Money Laundering Group (ESAAMLG)

  • A FATF-style regional body comprising fourteen countries from the Eastern region of Africa down to the Southern tip of Africa. It was established in 1999. Has adopted the FATF 40 recommendations. See

Eurasian Group (EAG)

  • A FATF-style regional body formed in October 2004 in Moscow. Member countries include Belarus, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. Observers include UK, USA, Italy, Georgia plus organizations such as FATF, World Bank, IMF. See

Financial Action Task Force of South America against Money Laundering (GAFISUD – Grupo de Acción Financiera de Sudamérica)

  • A FATF-style regional body for South America, established in 2000. Members include: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay. Created by inter-governmental treaty which permits more countries to join. Adopted the FATF recommendations. See

Intergovernmental Action Group against Money-Laundering in West Africa (GIABA – Groupe Intergouvernemental d’Action contre le Blanchiment d’Argent en Afrique de l’Quest)

  • No definition available

Middle East and North Africa Financial Action Task Force (MENAFATF)

  • A FATF-style body established for the Middle Eastern and North African regions in 2004. Algeria, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Libya, Sudan, Egypt, Mauritania, Syria, Iraq, Morocco, Tunisia, Jordan, Oman, UAE, Kuwait, Qatar, Yemen. Voluntary, not derived from international treaty, independent from any other international organization. See

Next Topic: Other AML initiatives

Previous Topic: Third Directive

Get the Book & Pass First Time!

Includes all the study notes, the mock exam and detailed explainations of the answers

Get the AML Book & Pass First Time - Instant PDF Download